Galerie Maubert

SVOBODA – ELIZAVETA KONOVALOVA


Project room – Exhibition from February 6 to March 14, 2020

Opening Thursday, February 6 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

 

Svoboda takes the story of a monument erected in Moscow in 1918 as part of the monumental propaganda plan initiated at the time by Lenin. The Monument to the Soviet Constitution, the central work in this plan, is an obelisk adorned by a female statue, an allegory of freedom. In 1941 the monument was demolished, in uncertain circumstances.

In 2018 Elizaveta Konovalova came across these traces, when she saw the replica of the statue on the bas-reliefs of a bridge in central Moscow. This miniature reproduction is indeed the only reminiscence of the monument in the city today.

The metamorphoses that the sculpture underwent by changing scale, then over time, produce new meanings. The title, borrowed from the original work, has the triggering role: Svoboda comes from the Russian Freedom. Elizaveta meticulously collects the forms on the ground, places them in context by tracing the fate of the monument, and deploys the whole in the exhibition space.

Galerie Maubert

SVOBODA – ELIZAVETA KONOVALOVA


Project room – Exposition du 6 février au 14 mars 2020

Vernissage jeudi 6 février de 18h à 21h

 

Svoboda s’empare de l’histoire d’un monument érigé à Moscou en 1918 dans le cadre du plan Propagande monumentale initié à l’époque par Lénine. Le Monument à la constitution soviétique, œuvre centrale de ce plan, est un obélisque orné par une statue féminine, allégorie de la liberté. En 1941 le monument est démoli, dans des circonstances incertaines.

En 2018 Elizaveta Konovalova tombe sur ces traces, lorsqu’elle aperçoit la réplique de la statue sur les bas-reliefs d’un pont au centre de Moscou. Cette reproduction en miniature est en effet la seule réminiscence du monument dans la ville d’aujourd’hui.

Les métamorphoses que la sculpture a subi en changeant d’échelle, puis au fil du temps, produisent de nouveaux sens. Le titre, emprunté à l’œuvre d’origine y a le rôle déclencheur : Svoboda provient du russe Liberté. Elizaveta recueille méticuleusement les formes sur le terrain, les situe dans le contexte en retraçant le sort du monument, et déploie l’ensemble dans l’espace d’exposition.